THE BAKE OFF DIARIES; CHEESE STRAWS!

 

unnamed

If I can bake, you can too! Lets do this…

So today’s blog post is a new mini series I’m going to start on my blog page and if you haven’t already guessed from the title it is called ‘The Beginners Bake off Diaries!’ Baking/cooking is something I am really keen about learning and developing my skills in. It has started off from making basic kind of cakes that really grew my interest. I think currently I am all butter-creamed’ out and today decided to venture down the savoury route – with cheese straws!  I’m no professional, this is more just sharing my journey of teaching myself how to make different things and if you want to join, you can too! 

All that is needed for these yummy cheese straws are as follows;

unnamed-1

  • 50g butter
  • 50g finely grated cheese – I chose cheddar!
  • 100g plain flour
  • Cayenne pepper – just a pinch, or more if you dare?! 
  • A pinch of sea salt
  • 1 beaten egg yolk

Okay so first I went ahead and weighed all the ingredients in separate bowls so they were already to add to the bowl. This was literally a spare of the moment bake idea, and the great thing with these cheese straws is that it’s easy ingredients that usually are in the household!

Next grab a large mixing bowl, adding the flour along with the pinch of cayenne pepper and sea salt. Then add the butter in gradually rubbing together through your fingertips until the consistency looks and feels sandy. Once so, add all of the grated cheese in to the mix then add the egg yolk. I mixed the ingredients gently together with a wooden spoon, in a folding motion until you see a dough forming into a ball. I found the mix needed a little more liquid as it was quite dry, so I added just a slight dash of cold water to help form the ball. Now this is done, tear some cling film up to wrap the ball and place in the fridge for 25 minutes to half an hour.

Once the waiting time is up, grab the cling filmed dough out of the fridge and pre heat your oven up to 200 degrees! Wash and dry down the surface area you are going to be using in the next following steps, then once dried, apply a surface of the plain flour, and then begin to roll out the dough with a rolling pin. Do this as thinly as you dare, how many straws do you want, haha?! I cut the edges of the rolled out dough to create a sharp lined square and then cut 1inch wide strips downwards. With the scraps of the corners, roll them back together and roll out again to get more from the mix – more straws yay! Your strips do not have to be perfect shape, have fun with it!

unnamed-3

Once I had gotten the most I could out of the dough and cut all the straws out, I gently placed them roughly 1 inches apart from each other on engrossed baking sheets. They did not stick in the slightest so no need for parchment paper or any oils or sprays! I used two trays, the picture above is from my scrap batch of mix and I was super surprised what I could get from which looked like such a small amount of dough! Next up pop the baking trays in the oven for about 10 minutes. My oven heats up pretty quickly so maybe took just under, once they turn a golden brown they are ready to take out. The smell was amazing whilst they were cooking, defo helped to judge when they were ready.

Once cooked take them out the oven and place them on to a wire rack and leave them too cool down before you dig in and enjoy! These cheese straws are great to snack on, if you are feeling peckish, or even for parties and gatherings! They are so super easy to make and go down a treat!

Thanks for reading, if you bake I’d love to know😊

plain_white_background_211387-1

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “THE BAKE OFF DIARIES; CHEESE STRAWS!

Leave a Reply

